BAGELS: Day 1 of Give up the Guilt! 40-day Challenge

The post below was submitted by a reader who is completing Positive Eats 40-Day Challenge: Give up the Guilt!.

Lena’s Story

Normally I would have given up carbs for Lent, but recently I realized my obsession with healthy eating was actually, extremely UNhealthy. It was destroying my social life: I was afraid to meet my friends for dinner or lunch, knowing that I couldn’t trust the food being served to me. I never went to happy hour with my coworkers–in fact, I even lied about commitments I had made in the afternoons and evenings to avoid drinking a beer with them. I spent most of my non-eating hours, obsessively planning and counting the calories of my next meal. I was constantly stressed out and always thinking about how to have the cleanest diet. My staple meals were plain oatmeal with flaxseeds and blueberries, kale salads with no dressing (only a splash of vinegar and some salt/pepper), and oven baked tofu and curried chickpeas. It was delicious food, but my consistent worrying about messing up my “perfect diet” was terrible for my health.

I realized I had a problem and now I want to change. I want to do the Positive Eats 40-Day Challenge of giving up the guilt I associated with “bad” foods. So guess what I did this morning?

I HAD A BAGEL FOR BREAKFAST. WITH CREAM CHEESE. And it wasn’t even a whole wheat bagel from a nice, organic bakery run by the vegan, tree hugging hipsters downtown. Nope. IT WAS A PLAIN WHITE BAGEL FROM KROGER

And guess what?? IT WAS delicious, and I savored every bite, AND guess what I discovered when I read the nutrition label?? Each bagel has 15% daily Calcium, 20% Iron, and 9% of dietary fiber!

Check out the pictures I took.

15% Calcium? 20% Iron? 2 g fiber! I'll take it!!
15% Calcium? 20% Iron? 2 g fiber! I’ll take it!!
Plain White Bagels from Kroger for breakfast of Give Up the Guilt Challenge Day 1!
Plain White Bagels from Kroger for breakfast of Give Up the Guilt Challenge Day 1!

I’m so happy I chose to take on this challenge. Bagels are ok to eat. They are just food! A little bit of a “banned” food each day for 40-days will be an eye opener and stress reliever for me. Living guilt free is the best. Now that I’ve had my breakfast full of carbs ( = ENERGY!!!!) and lots of nutrients (since I learned that those plain white bagels were made from fortified flour with essential vitamins and minerals), I am ready to start my day with a POSITIVE outlook!

WOO!

Love, Lena

— THANK LENA!! Glad to hear your success story. What is everyone else eating for Day 1 of the challenge?

2 thoughts on “BAGELS: Day 1 of Give up the Guilt! 40-day Challenge

Leave a Reply

