Let’s talk about Hot Dogs

Hello hot dogs!
Hello hot dogs!
Screenshot 2014-02-04 19.57.17
a classic American frank

What are they? An ingredient list from Ball Park says this: “MECHANICALLY SEPARATED TURKEY, PORK, WATER, CORN SYRUP, BEEF, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF: SALT, POTASSIUM LACTATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATES, FLAVORINGS, BEEF STOCK, SODIUM DIACETATE, SODIUM ERYTHORBATE, MALTODEXTRIN, SODIUM NITRITE, EXTRACTIVES OF PAPRIKA.”

A year ago I would have looked at this list and cringed. “Mechanically separated”?? CORN SYRUP?! “Flavorings”?? “Sodium Nitrite”???? “Sodium ertyhoasid;flasdmf????!!

A year ago I would have vowed never to eat another hot dog again. I would have made a point to mention that hot dogs cause cancer at every bbq event to all my friends and family. I would have thrown away the package of hot dogs in the fridge at my parents house which they had bought for the occasional quick weeknight meal. I would tell all the middle schoolers that I teach that their lunches were extremely unhealthy. I would then obsessively search on the internet all the reasons why hotdogs were bad for you. Then, through my quest for the “perfect” diet, I would cut out all foods that were like hotdogs– Bologna, ham, pepperoni, spam, deli turkey. But wait, if processed meats were so bad for me, then consuming processed anything must be killing as well! No more processed cheese then! No more packaged snacks. No more pre-sliced bread at the supermarket. If I didn’t know what the ingredients were, I wasn’t consuming it. Those were all bad foods. And anyone who consumed these “bad” foods was somehow less “good” than others…

But that mentality was SO last year. SO never should have happened.

But perhaps…it NEEDED to happen. It needed to happen for me to have learned it wasn’t the food that was killing me– it was my toxic mindset.

Screenshot 2014-02-04 19.57.04

Lessons come from experience, and as much as I hate to diagnose..I learned a lesson from Orthorexia Nervosa.

Now whenever I have a hot dog, the ingredient list in my mind looks more like this: ” TURKEY, PORK,  BEEF”

Because you know what a hot dog is folks?? A hot dog is a piece of meat. It is food. Food that provides us with a nice dose of protein. Proteins are the building blocks of life. And while I’m on a roll here.. 🙂 .. Hot Dogs, too,  are the building blocks of life.  Reminiscent of state fairs, summer bbqs, picnics in the park, Super Bowl parties, campfires, the Fourth of July, lazy dog pool days…

Hot dogs are a delicious reminder of allll that HAPPY.

And now for the ultimate debate: ketchup on your hot dog? Yay or nay?

One thought on “Let’s talk about Hot Dogs

Leave a Reply

